If you’ve just hit ‘AGREE’ on the latest Whatsapp notification about the updates on their terms and privacy policy without even reading them fully, here’s why you should be worried about.

While Whatsapp had been boasting about improving their end-to-end encryption service, Whatsapp Calling and many more, there is also an update about your own privacy being ‘breached’ – Whatsapp will now share some data about you to Facebook.

While it may not sound so serious yet, things may go out of hand in the near future if they keep sharing more and more information about you, under the pretext of contributing to .

“Respect for your privacy is coded into our DNA, and we built WhatsApp around the goal of knowing as little about you as possible,” the privacy policy used to uplift about.

To read more on how this update will affect you, read this.

For now, let’s just assume that you’ve hit AGREE and now are wondering on how to make a U-turn. No worries.

From your Whatsapp main interface, go to SETTINGS > ACCOUNT and you will see the following:

This is the screen that you will see when you tap SETTINGS > ACCOUNT. Uncheck the option at the bottom that says "Share my account info"

This is the screen that you will see when you tap SETTINGS > ACCOUNT. Uncheck the option at the bottom that says “Share my account info”

Once you uncheck, the following message will pop out and scare the hell out of you:

Nothing much to do here. Keep calm and just click on DON'T SHARE. And voila!

Nothing much to do here. Keep calm and just click on DON’T SHARE. And voila!

Comments

comments